Family

Normally, I don’t post personal photos and stories on my website, but I had to share about the loss of my husband’s grandpa Moir Nester. He passed away early yesterday morning unexpectedly and it’s been hard on the Nester family. My own family is close, but you’ve not seen a closer bunch than the Nester’s. Moir will be missed.

Last Monday, we had a very talented photographer (Kristen H) come out and get some family shots. Little did we know this would be the last photo of Moir and his wife of 60 years, Connie. I’m so glad she was able to catch that smile. Moir really enjoyed the short photo session.

You would not believe the amount of visitors we’ve seen these past two days. And the food is crazy! I think there’s enough food to feed an army for three months in that house. You can really feel the love of family and friends.

As I was reading my bible yesterday, these verses jumped out at me and made me think of Moir.

Proverbs 10:7, 27 (abbreviated) – The memory of the righteous will be a blessing…The fear of the Lord adds length to life.

I’m not sure if he was 91 or 92, but he had a long life. He ate apples every day and didn’t really speak much. Sometimes, he’d open up to me and tell me stories about the good ol’ days. He sure loved his little dog Spot. He’d take him for rides in the pickup and stuff. I think Spot misses him, too.

He’ll be buried tomorrow, but that young soul is long gone from that old body. I have no doubt that he’s enjoying his mansion in Gloryland right now.

Leave a Reply

