(about ready) to kill a mockingbird

I didn’t know what a mockingbird sounded like until a few years ago. At that point, I decided I love them. Right now, I’m very annoyed with the one outside my window at night. For the past three nights, it (he, I think) has decided to sing from about 1 until 4 am. It’s driving me batty (pun intended)! It’s cool enough right now that we’ve been sleeping with the windows open, but last night, I had to get up, close all of the windows, and turn on the air conditioning. I couldn’t take it any longer!

My husband heard me up and about and asked me what I was doing. When I told him the bird was driving me nuts, he said, “It’s a sound of nature. You should be able to sleep through it.” I said “Snoring is also natural, but I can’t sleep through your snores, either!” He found that amusing.

I started looking for ways to make it be quiet (besides killing it or screaming at it), and I found this interesting article dated 1987 – “Why the Mockingbird Sings”. You should check it out.

Of course, I’m not going to kill this precious bird. I guess it’s just getting me ready for the newborn and the lack of sleep it will bring. 

Speaking of which, my due date was yesterday and still no baby. Doc says all looks well with both of us, so we’ll go back to the doc on Monday and see what goes. They said they’ll let me go up to 42 weeks before they induce me if all looks well. I really hope it doesn’t come down to that. I want this to be as natural as possible. So, say a little prayer that little baby decides to arrive this weekend or early next week!

Leave a Reply

