gettin’ ready for bodypump

I recently agreed to go to a training (next weekend) to become certified in Les Mills BodyPump 88. I didn’t know what I was getting myself into! I have to learn a lot of choreography (which I’ve never done before) and the workout is kick butt, too. I’m looking forward to the challenge, but I haven’t been this intimidated by something since I had to study for and take my ACE personal training certification exam. I practiced the workout some yesterday and I’m majorly sore in my lower body today.

One thing I’ve already learned is that it’s good to be put out of your comfort zone occasionally…some people would say even regularly. It reminds me of what these gym newcomers must feel like and how overwhelming it is. Just yesterday, I met with a lady who is starting the gym and is very intimidated. She’s going to do great, but it’s going to take lots of encouragement. I’m just so comfortable with the gym, that sometimes I need a reminder that a lot of folks are very awkward here.

On another note, I did my first draft for my weight loss team’s t-shirts this morning. I haven’t done any graphic designing in over a year, so it’s not the best, but I’m pretty happy with what I have so far. I’ve asked them what they think of it and so far, I’ve gotten positive responses. They chose the saying for the back. AND, not only are we gonna have the prettiest shirts out of the three teams, my gals have already lost 32 pounds in 2 weeks (5 women total)! I’m so stinkin’ proud of all of them. We have 3 more weeks to go and I know we’re going to win this thing!

weight loss contest shirt - back weight loss contest shirt - front

My question for you today is what challenge are you facing with your health/fitness goals OR what has made you uncomfortable (in a good way) here lately?

5 Comments

  1. Trying to nail my issues with balance, range of motion and core stability. My teacher Jackie and I were talking and working on that just recently. I’m thankful that I’m in her class because she seems to be the only teacher that I have that cares enough to say something and work with me on it.

    • Yes, that’s very important. I’m glad you’re receptive to her feedback. I strive to help people in a discreet way when I see they need to tweak something. I think sometimes instructors are afraid how people will react to corrective criticism, but most folks are happy to have it. šŸ™‚ Hope to get your issues worked out…just be patient and diligent!

Leave a Reply

