monday challenge

If you read my Sunday Challenge post, I had a goal to spend 3 hours on Monday working on an assignment from our Sunday school lesson this week. It was a good day, but I ended up only spending 45 minutes on the task. My goal for the rest of the week is to finish the other 2 hours and 15 minutes in dedicated Bible reading and prayer. I wanted to share what I accomplished in my 45 minutes. Maybe it will inspire you to take the challenge, too.

How well am I following God’s purpose for my life and how might I be more faithful?

What is my purpose?

  • To follow God’s will for my life

    • Which is what?

  • To give praise and glory to God in all that I do

  • To lead others to Christ by witnessing and leading a lifestyle that is pleasing to God

  • To raise my children in a Godly way

Bullet points from the Purpose Driven Life (Day One) – http://purposedriven.com/day1/

CENTER YOUR LIFE AROUND GOD: (Worship)

  • “Love the Lord your God with all your heart …and soul and mind. This is the first and greatest commandment.” Mt. 22:37-38

  • “A sense of God’s wholeness, everything coming together for good, will come and settle you down. It’s wonderful what happens when Christ displaces worry at the center of your life.”

TO CONNECT WITH OTHER BELIEVERS: (Fellowship)

  • “Let us not give up the habit of meeting together… instead let us encourage one another.”Heb. 10:25 (GN)

  • “Those who believed… were baptized and added to the church… They joined with the other believers and committed themselves to the apostles’ teaching and fellowship… They worshiped together regularly at the Temple… and met in small groups in homes …”Acts 2:41-42, 46 (NLT/LB)

TO CULTIVATE SPIRITUAL MATURITY: (Discipleship)

  • “Let us go on… and become mature in our understanding, as strong Christians ought to be.”Heb. 6:1 (LB)

  • “By now you should be teachers. Instead, you still need someone to teach you…!”Heb. 5:12 (GW)

TO MAKE A CONTRIBUTION WITH YOUR LIFE: (Service)

  • “God has given each of you some special abilities; be sure to use them to help each other.”1 Peter 4:10 (LB)

  • “What can I give back to God for the blessings He’s poured out on me?”Ps. 116:12 (Msg)

TO COMMUNICATE GOD’S LOVE TO OTHERS: (Mission)

  • “Through Christ, God has made peace between us and Himself, and He gave us the work of telling everyone about the peace we can have with Him… So we have been sent to speak for Christ!”2 Cor. 5:18, 20 (NCV)

Questions I need to answer:

  • Do I really love the Lord with all my heart?

    • I feel my love growing all the time, but it’s easier for me to love my earthly family sometimes because they are actually here with me.

  • How often do I put my own wants before what God wants me to do?

    • a lot…seems like I don’t really ask God what he wants me to do. I need to spend more time reading my Bible and praying so I will know His will.

  • What am I doing right in my current lifestyle?

    • Going to church most every Sunday – not just to go, but to receive a blessing and be part of a church family

    • Reading the daily devotional with Mike most nights before we go to bed

    • Raising our son in a Christian home and taking him to church regularly

    • Praying over our meals

    • Standing up for things that are right in God’s eyes and opposing those which are not

    • Sending birthday and other notes to church members, family, and friends

    • Not watching shows or listening to music that has questionable content

    • Tithing on a regular basis

  • What obvious improvements need to be made and ideas for each

    • more time reading the Bible

      • get up 30 minutes earlier at least 4 days each week

      • take breaks throughout the day to read scripture

    • more time praying

      • get up 30 minutes earlier at least 4 days each week

      • specifically for my family and our relationship with God

    • more time serving others

      • be a better neighbor and reach out to those immediately neighboring us

      • serve at the soup kitchen once a month

      • propose and help organize a one day vacation bible school at church

      • send more “thinking of you” notes to church members who request prayer or that come to mind

    • offering my testimony more easily and often

      • revisit my written testimony and become more familiar

      • become familiar with scriptures and action steps to help lead people to Christ

      • plan a gathering at our house around Easter to show the Billy Graham DVD and follow that plan to invite others to Christ (since I didn’t do it last year)

    • spend more time educating our son on God

      • find some biblical cartoons and books

      • talk to him more about his God, creation, God’s love and will for his life

    • teach during Sunday school

      • bring the adult book to the kid’s class and review the scripture and points

      • teach the kids songs to sing in front of the church

    • give more offerings in addition to tithes
Leave a Reply

