having day dreams at night

I’m awake again at 3 am…been awake since 12:30. I remember doing this with my first pregnancy and I have no idea why it happens. Plus, there’s a full moon coming soon. I laid in bed for 2 hours before I finally got up to put down my thoughts. I’ve mostly been day dreaming about our new house and decorating, but I did get my spin class routine put together first (for my 8:30 class). I’ll post that after we have the class when I have some feedback from my students.

I thought I’d share some ideas for my new house here and see what you think! I am pinning new photos all the time, so check out my Pinterest board devoted to new house decorating – http://www.pinterest.com/mntriveggies/new-house-decorating-ideas/.

I really love this entryway bench from Target and I love this color. I think I’m going to put it to the left when you walk in our front door. It has great reviews and it shouldn’t be too hard to assemble.

This is what you see when you walk in our front door.

This is what you see when you walk in our front door.

This is a picture from the model home that shows how our new home will be laid out (my son and mom were models that day). I didn’t go with that rust color on the walls back there, but I’m thinking that far right wall in the dining room would be a pretty dark blue. Just that one wall. I just think it looks nautical and bold, don’t you?

dark-blue-wall-with-white-trim-shelves

I want to paint one wall in the living room a teal color and I’m thinking it would have to be the right one that will be where the TV goes. We plan to have a brown sectional couch that faces that wall and I have a two shelf piece that I plan to paint. I thought if I painted the wall teal, I could paint the shelf that dark blue from other wall and then paint the interior of the shelf the teal color. I found this that is similar but it won’t have doors. I plan to use that fabric boxes for hidden storage as well.

tvshelfidea

On to the master bedroom! I really loved this night stand at IKEA, but I’m not sure I want to sink $50 into it. I could always find a neat piece of furniture and paint it, but the look of this is really cool. My sister says it looks like a bug!

nightstand

 

I don’t want the entire house to be overwhelmed with teal, so I want to focus on shades of purple in the bedroom. Just something light and again, only one wall. I want the wall where the headboard is to be the painted on. Here are two inspirations I found quickly online – nothing as fancy as this, but using similar colors.

purpleteal

purpleteal2

I have to share the room with my husband, but he’s color deficient so he doesn’t care too much about the palette. However, our biggest debate has been how to arrange the bed.

IMG_5522

My thinking is that the headboard should go against that main wall. Our bathroom door is to the right. He thinks the headboard should go against the windows as to not cover the HVAC vent. I think he’s crazy! I told him we could get one of those plastic re-director things for the vent to shoot the air out from under the bed. He won’t listen. I don’t know if I can budge on this one, though! We’ll see how it works out in the end.

By the way – we’re not having a stitch of carpet in the house. It’s all this wood looking linoleum stuff, but I’m going to get some area rugs to soften things up a bit. We’ve dealt with carpet before and it doesn’t work well with muddy boots, late night sickness, etc.

As far as the kid’s rooms, I’m seriously thinking of letting them share a room for the first several years. My son will be 2 1/2 when the new baby arrives and we’ll probably keep the new baby in our room for several months. When it starts sleeping well through the night, I think I will put it in my son’s room and let them share (even if this new one is a girl). Then, we’ll have an extra room for a guest bed and play area. Here’s the bed I would LOVE to have for the kids room…

Isn’t that the neatest bed? It’s reversible and you can make that bottom part a second bed by throwing a mattress on the floor. It’s not that high off the ground, either. I could paint that white part to match his room since it seems a little dull. And check out this cool canopy you can get to go over it!

canopyWouldn’t that be the neatest thing to fall asleep under each night? I believe that canopy could keep him from rolling out of bed as well.

There’s a whole lot more I could write about, but I’m actually getting tired now. It’s almost 3:30 and the husband is up at 4:30 getting ready for work, so I best get back to bed and catch some sleep. Going to be a busy morning – spin class then 2 personal training sessions immediately following. A short break and 2 more sessions. I’ll be crashing tonight!

Leave a Reply

