old fashioned and happy

I got to thinking about how “old fashioned” I can be sometimes. I think that’s one reason I feel so cozy and comfy in this temporary house we’re staying in until our new house is ready. I think it was built in the 40’s and the decor looks like something from the 70’s. But I like it (for now).

What makes me old fashioned? For one thing, I’ve never signed up for Twitter and I don’t think I ever will. Secondly, I swore off Facebook over a year ago (one of the best decisions I ever made). Next, I don’t own any type of tablet or smart phone. I have a dinky slider phone so I can make calls, text, and check the weather. I do have the internet at home, but I’m using a fairly old laptop my mother-in-law has let me borrow.

I have old fashioned ways of thinking, too. I don’t believe you should have TVs in your bedrooms, just one TV in the living room. My thinking is that if you have TVs in all the rooms, everyone will go their separate ways and it just creates unhealthy space in a family. I tried to persuade my husband (the ESPN/sports addict) to not have satellite while we are living in this temp house for 4-6 weeks. We went without for 2 days before they came to install it yesterday. I believe it was Sunday, we were sitting around staring at each other and watching our 2 year old play. I was like, “Just think – this is what people USED to do before TV. They talked, read books aloud, sang, and played games. Isn’t it cool?” He looked at me as if I had two heads. 🙂

I have found that you don’t need a bunch of gadgets to make you happy. Pleasure is found in the simple things and I’m glad I’ve learned to embrace that in my 30’s. I hope I can instill that in my children as well.

OH, one other thing. I still believe in a hand-written note – especially a thank you note. Those can be more valuable than gold.

What makes YOU old fashioned?

I googled "old fashioned" to find an image to use and this one was it! It reminds me of a time when my little sister and I got a hold of my dad's razors. We cut our faces all to pieces trying to "shave". Oh, the memories!

I googled “old fashioned” to find an image to use and this one was it! It reminds me of a time when my little sister and I got a hold of my dad’s razors. We cut our faces all to pieces trying to “shave”. Oh, the memories!

2 Comments

  1. This is almost scary: I’ve never had a twitter account, I don’t have a smart phone (just an ancient cell phone that my husband and I share and rarely use), we went for 18 years without a television and only recently installed one in our living room so we can watch the Red Sox (but it’s hardly ever on) and I cut my face to smithereens, shaving with my grandpa’s (supposedly “safety”) razor when I was 2.

    If that’s not enough to make me old fashioned: I bake my own bread and make almost all our food from scratch; I sew a lot of my clothes; I use my grandmother’s old sewing machine and her crochet hooks; and I still admire, and try to live by, the old-fashioned values she taught me (things like thrift, patience, humility, and charity). And I’m wary of fads and jumping on the band-wagon in a totally old-fashioned way.

    • How funny! You and I have a lot in common, eh? One day I’ll have to post about how I lived almost 2 years without running water when I was a young teenager. I didn’t like it at the time, but I’m glad I experienced it now. Good for you being “thrifty” and more. The world needs more people like that. And, as always, thanks for reading. 🙂

Leave a Reply

