boot camp workout and cookies

It’s 1:15 am and I’m wide awake while my husband snores in the bedroom. I slept well from 9:30 to 11:45 pm, but then I woke up and couldn’t go back to sleep. So, I had to get up and eat a couple homemade chocolate chip cookies while I scoured Pinterest for spin class ideas.

Tonight may be our last night in this house. I was thinking about our last meal in the house (homemade vegetable soup and those cookies I was chowing on) as well as my son’s last bath in this place. I can  honestly say I’m ready to go. It’s been pretty cold here and our house is not well insulated, so it’s been chilly inside, too. We’re staying in a temporary house close by until our new home is ready and it’s warm and cozy, so I’m excited about that. It’s an older house (I’m thinking 1940’s?) but it’s been well kept. By the time our brand new home is ready, I’ll be ready to make the move, I’m sure. I’m super excited about this big bathtub we are going to have!!!

The tub in our soon to be new home! I'm so excited. I have new bubble bath and bath salts. Gonna feel good on this old pregnant body. :)

The tub in our soon to be new home! I’m so excited. I have new bubble bath and bath salts. Gonna feel good on this old pregnant body. 🙂

I created a workout for a personal training client of mine and she did it this morning. She hated me and the workout by the time it was over. It probably didn’t help that I gave her a hard workout yesterday as well. She’s going on a cruise at the end of the month and wants to lose weight and look her best. I think I’m helping! Here’s the workout I came up with:

Mandy’s Boot Camp Workout (1 hour)

Warm up (5 minutes):

  • Walk 2 minutes around track
  • Jog 3 minutes

Main Set (39 minutes):

  • Set A (16 minutes)
    1. Alternating lunges across gym (short length)
    2. 30 squats
    3. 20 pushups
    4. Stair run 3 minutes
    5. Rest 1 minute and repeat
  • Set B (12 minutes)
    1. Jumping jacks – 1 minute
    2. Mountain climbers – 1 minute
    3. Reverse lunges – 1 minute
    4. Jog 2 minutes holding weight belt overhead
    5. Rest 1 minute and repeat
  • Set C (8 minutes)
    1. Wall sit – 30 seconds
    2. Burpees – 30 seconds
    3. Alternating side lunge – 30 seconds
    4. Elbow plank – 30 seconds
    5. Gym sprints (short length) – 1 minute
    6. Rest 1 minute and repeat
  • Set D (3 minutes)
    1. Basic crunch – 30 seconds
    2. Flutter kicks – 30 seconds
    3. Left side plank – 30 seconds
    4. Right side plank – 30 seconds
    5. Superman hold – 30 seconds
    6. Straight arm plank – 30 seconds

Cool Down (5 minutes)

  • Walk 2 minutes & stretch

I thought I’d do a mini version of this workout since I only had 30 minutes to spare and I’m 12 weeks pregnant. I really could have gone longer, but I was afraid of the stair running (not that coordinated). Here’s what I ended up doing.

Mandy’s Boot Camp Workout (shorter/pregnancy version)

Warm up:

  • Walk 2 minutes around track
  • Jog 3 minutes

Main Set:

  • Set A 
    1. 30 squats
    2. 20 pushups
    3. Stair run 3 minutes
    4. Rest 1 minute
  • Set B 
    1. Jumping jacks – 1 minute
    2. Mountain climbers – 1 minute
    3. Reverse lunges – 1 minute
    4. Jog 2 minutes
    5. Lunges across short part of gym (back and forth)
    6. Rest 1 minute
  • Set C 
    1. Wall sit – 30 seconds
    2. Burpees – 30 seconds
    3. Alternating side lunge – 30 seconds
    4. Elbow plank – 30 seconds
    5. Gym sprints (short length) – 1 minute
    6. Rest 1 minute
  • Set D 
    1. Basic crunch – 30 seconds
    2. Flutter kicks – 30 seconds
    3. Left side plank – 30 seconds
    4. Right side plank – 30 seconds
    5. Alternating bird dogs – 30 seconds
    6. Straight arm plank – 30 seconds

Cool Down 

  • Sweep entire basketball court with 60″ dust mop and stretch

I got creative with that last part because the gym floor was disgusting, so I thought I would “feed two birds with one seed.” My vegetarian friend turned me onto that saying instead of the same old “kill two birds with one stone”.

Well, 6 am is going to come early and it’s Saturday. I have to go to work for a couple early hours and lead an in-service on front desk procedures. Then, it’s home to move some more and then to a baby shower for a bit. Then back to move some more and fall into bed tonight, I reckon. Happy Saturday!

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

