2014 goals

I’m in my 30’s now, so I don’t make resolutions – I set goals for myself. I actually started that a few years back and it’s worked out well. The only goal I remember from last year was to keep my weight under 155 pounds and I did that pretty much all year. I got up to about 157 at one point, but I did that 3 day detox and got it back down. I finished the year at about 156, but since I’m now 12 weeks pregnant, I gave myself a break!

My mantra for 2014 is a scripture I read not too long ago during devotionals. It’s Psalm 19:14 (I just realized it’s verse 14 – how appropriate) and it says “Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O Lord, my strength, and my redeemer.” If I really concentrate on living my life this way, everything else will fall into place.

My 2014 mantra

My 2014 mantra

That scripture reminds me of an incident today at lunch. I took myself out for this really good taco salad I like and the restaurant was short staffed. An adult couple had placed their orders before I had, but I got my food first. It was a longer wait than usual, but I’ve learned to be patient. The waiter came by their table and apologize for the delay, explaining they were missing a cook. The woman loudly said something like “You better get it cooked fast. I could have cooked it myself by now!” I’m sitting there thinking to myself “Now, what was the point of that? Where are you going to get with an attitude like that?” They grumbled the rest of the meal and made ugly remarks and then I saw them again in Wal-Mart a few minutes later. I almost gave them a lesson on being polite and patient, but I didn’t get a good vibe from them. I just hope they heard me being overly nice to the poor waiter. It wasn’t his fault.

Anyhoo, back to my goals for 2014. I jotted my list down while enjoying that good salad at lunch.

  1. Spend more quiet time with God. I try to read my Bible every day and read some commentary to help me understand what I’m reading, but I don’t pray nearly enough. I’m trying to pray first thing in the morning so I don’t do it while falling asleep at night.
  2. Help lead at least one person to Christ. I can’t save anyone and I’m not going to try. I just want to plant the seed and let the Holy Spirit do his handy work. I have several people in mind, and if there is a known conversion this year, you bet I will share the good news! Sadly enough, I can’t tell you anyone has ever told me that I was the person who led them to Christ. That needs to change.
  3. Be more positive toward my husband. I have a wonderful marriage and a great man to love, but sometimes he gets the short end of the stick. I have found it’s easy to be mean to those you love the most. They will normally forgive you! I just need to be more attentive and not so short with him.
  4. Gain no more than 30 pounds during this pregnancy.
  5. Get back to 155 pounds by the end of the year. I’m due mid July so that would give me about 5 months. Yay breastfeeding!
  6. Perform at least one pull up by the end of the year. I have NEVER done in a pull up in all my life. I’m a personal trainer, for crying out loud. I need to be able to do a pull up!
  7. Win the weight loss competition. Say what? Yeah, by “win” I mean lead the winning team. We’re starting a 6 week competition for members and whoever’s team loses the highest percentage of body weight wins a nice little bonus.
  8. Add 3 more regular personal training clients.
  9. Continue to improve my diet. Some ways I plan to do that include eating less butter (I love it for some reason), consuming more whole grains, and avoiding soda. I’ve been soda free for almost 6 weeks, so that shouldn’t be too hard to keep up with.
  10. Grow a small garden. So, I’m pregnant and we’re moving into a new house this spring. Why not throw in growing some veggies?  Nothing major just a “salad patch” pretty much. I want fresh tomatoes, maybe some spinach, cucumbers and such.
  11. Potty train our son. He’ll be 2 at the end of January and I’d love to have him out of diapers by the time this new baby comes. Parents, share your potty training tips with me please!!!

Ok, I must close for the day. Please let me know what your goals or resolutions are. I’m curious to hear what other folks are doing.

2 Comments

  1. The wordpress gremlin ate my comment a few days ago. I hate that!

    Good goals. You’ve set a lot of them…. you must have a LOT of energy. You’re expecting and you have a 2-year-old and you can manage to get so much done!

    I haven’t made resolutions, or set New Year’s goals, in years, because I’m always setting goals and working toward them, not just on Jan. 1st. So my gaol this year is to have more fun. Really, I’m WAY too serious and results-oriented.

    Happy New Year, and congratulations. By the way, I just posted my bread-making lesson.

Leave a Reply

