squash and spin

I made some good butternut squash soup last night. Well, it was good to ME, but my husband and son wouldn’t eat, the little boogers. So, I have still have a few servings of soup to eat. Let me tell you, peeling and cutting up a butternut squash is not an easy feat, but it made a good meal. I had the soup with a grilled cheese on whole wheat bread. Yum!

Then, I taught a kick butt workout in my 8:30 spin class this morning. It was inspired by IDEA Fitness Journal (Nov – Dec 2013). Went something like this:

  • 5 minute warm up
  • Progressive climb – every 30 seconds, add resistance until you end up in a standing climb (total of 3 minutes)
    • Round 2 we went 45 seconds each interval
    • Round 3 we went 1 minute each interval
  • 1 minute recovery
  • Seated speed work – start at 60% of your maximum effort, then add 10% each 30 seconds for a total of 100%. Go back down to 60% for the last 30 seconds.
    • Round 2 we went 45 seconds each interval
    • Round 3 we went 1 minute each interval
  • Hill plateaus – standing climb for 1 minute, then 30 second fast seated flat (plateau). Repeat twice for 3 minutes.
    • Round 2, we extended the flat to 45 seconds, leaving the hills at 1 minute
    • We ended up running out of time for round 3 since the class is 45 minutes and this workout is about a 60 minute one.
  • 8 minute cool down (slowing down pedaling, stretching, etc.)

I was happy that there was NO snow when I woke up this morning. I don’t mind snow when I have nothing to do, but when I have to be at work early, I’d rather it wait until the weekend!

Leave a Reply

