good workout and recipes

Yesterday, a girl I work with and I did a short but hard little HIIT workout. The directions on this thing are confusing as heck, but we got through the workout  and I’m sore today. She texted me that she is too!

tabata

Then, I guess I negated all my hard work last night by eating pizza (just a couple of slices of cheese). But, I did make a turtle cake since we had company coming over. I only had a small piece with some vanilla ice cream, so I don’t feel too terribly guilty. I’m all about fitness and health, but I’m about enjoying life, too! The recipe was good, but I would recommend using a devil’s food cake mix and maybe just using caramels and not adding the sweetened condensed milk. That’s just my two cents.

I also made muffins last night to have for breakfast this morning. My husband had to go to work and I knew I wouldn’t have a lot of time to fix breakfast for my son and me, so I thought I’d make them ahead. They turned out really well. My son saw them on the counter this morning and said “cupcakes!”. Now, I never have cupcakes in this house, so I’m not 100% sure where he got that from, but I said “Yes, cupcakes! We’re having cupcakes for breakfast!” Why not get him excited?! He really liked them and I did, too.

Whole-Wheat Carrot Applesauce Muffins

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups whole-wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup butter (1 stick), softened (but not melted)
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 3/4 cup carrot shreds (I used a cheese grater)

Instructions
1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F. Line a muffin pan with paper, foil, or silicone liners, and set aside.
2. In a medium bowl whisk together the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, ginger, and salt.
3. In a large bowl fitted with an electric whisk (or beaters), mix the butter, honey, egg and vanilla together on
medium speed. Turn the speed down and slowly add in the flour mixture until well combined. The batter will be
fairly thick at this point.
4. Using a spatula, carefully fold in the applesauce and carrots. Divide the batter evenly among the muffin cups.
Bake for 22 to 24 minutes or until a toothpick comes and muffins are beginning to turn golden brown on top.
Enjoy!
Notes
We recommend organic ingredients when feasible.
Copyright © 2012 100 Days of Real Food. All Rights Reserved.
http://www.100daysofrealfood.com/2013/10/25/recipe-whole-wheat-carrot-applesauce-muffins/

Well, the husband just got home from work. Let’s visit while the son naps. Happy Sunday everyone!

Leave a Reply

