food allergy theory & the shutdown

So, I got my car radio fixed yesterday (my speakers have been jacked up for about two years now) and I was listening to NPR on my way home from riding bikes. I heard an interesting story where this guy was talking about the human body. One of the topics he brought up was something I’d not yet heard of. He mentioned that food allergies could be caused by the use of too many antibiotics and it makes a lot of sense. I found an interesting article (I’m sure one of many) if you want to read more about it – http://www.medscape.com/viewarticle/780023. So thankful that my son only had one round of antibiotics in his first year of life (almost going on two years).

Speaking of being thankful for a healthy kid…I’ve been lifeguarding for the 4th grade water safety program for the past few weeks and today I was astonished to see a little boy with one leg. He hopped out of the water and put on a life jacket all by himself while the other kids with all their limbs were asking for assistance. I said a prayer of thanksgiving for a healthy child (and self, for that matter).

Have you seen Google’s home page today? If not, it’s celebrating the 123rd anniversary of Yosemite Park. Wonder if there is a hidden meaning to that?

123rd-anniversary-of-yosemite-national-park-6124274398003200-hp

As I mentioned before, I rode bikes with my friend Nancy yesterday who owns this great candy factory in beautiful Meadows of Dan, Virginia (right off the Blue Ridge Parkway). October is her busiest month each year and if/when the Parkway closes due to the government shut down, I really think it could wreak havoc on her October sales.

All this government shutdown stuff reminds me of one of my favorite movies, “V for Vendetta”“People shouldn’t be afraid of their government. Governments should be afraid of their people.” 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

