good morning workout

Got up this morning at 4:30 with my husband, had my cup of joe and my breakfast smoothie, then got to work at 5:50. Then, I tortured my 6:15 Morning Mix class with this workout:

Workout courtesy of Daily Dose of Fit

Workout courtesy of Daily Dose of Fit

We started with a quick warm up on the BOSU then lit into the hard work (if you don’t have a BOSU, use a step). Let me tell you, those jump squats kick butt, especially after doing a squat hold for 30 seconds. On the third circuit, I didn’t know what “kickouts” were, so we did flutter kicks while lying on our backs (30 seconds). We repeated each circuit 3 times, then had a one minute break between each set. I’m going to be sore tomorrow.

After the class, I saw the sky was glowing pink, so I stepped out and took in the gorgeous sunrise. I took a picture, but my dinky phone camera didn’t do it enough justice to post here.

Last night, I made venison (deer meat) meatloaf and a fall vegetable hash. Very good, healthy dinner!

Fall Vegetable Hash (from Southern Living Magazine)

  • 4 thick bacon slices
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 medium-size sweet onion, chopped
  • 1 medium-size sweet potato (about 10 oz.), peeled and cut into 1/2-inch cubes
  • 2 medium turnips (about 12 oz.), peeled and cut into 1/2-inch cubes
  • 1 tablespoon white wine vinegar (I didn’t have this so I used white vinegar – worked just fine)
  • 1 pound small fresh Brussels sprouts, quartered
  • 2 garlic cloves, sliced

Preparation

  1. Cook bacon in a 12-inch cast-iron skillet over medium heat, turning occasionally, 8 to 10 minutes or until crisp. Remove bacon; drain, reserving 2 Tbsp. drippings in skillet. Coarsely chop bacon.
  2. Add oil to hot drippings in skillet. Cook onion and sweet potato in hot oil and drippings over medium heat, stirring occasionally, 5 minutes. Add turnips; cook, stirring occasionally, 8 minutes.
  3. Combine vinegar and 2 Tbsp. water. Add Brussels sprouts, garlic, and vinegar mixture to skillet. Cover and cook, stirring occasionally, 5 minutes or until vegetables are tender. Stir in bacon; add salt and pepper to taste.
Yum yum! Give me some!

Yum yum! Give me some!

Leave a Reply

