seconds, minutes, hours, days, months, years

I had a completely random thought today while lifeguarding 4th graders in the pool (YES, I WAS paying attention!). I don’t even remember what triggered it, but my thought was “All the hard stuff has already been done.” Can you imagine living before there were measurements of time? It almost seems unfathomable.

I give kudos to whomever decided it was time (pun intended) to break up time into seconds, minutes, hours, days, months, and years. I mean, just think of the chaos that would be if we couldn’t say “See you next Tuesday at 9 am”. It’s kind of liking thinking what happened before people had names. Very strange.

There’s my random rambling for this Tuesday, September 24, 2013.

1 Comment

  1. Wasn’t that long ago, that people did not have completely regulated clock schedules. I’ve heard that all started with the railroad and their time-schedules…. But it is interesting to consider–who figured out what a minute is, exactly and that there are 60 in an hour and 24 hours in a day… a rather complex formula for the first thinker-upper of it.

Leave a Reply

