wonderful family weekend (plus a good recipe)

I spent the weekend with a lot of family and it was very nice. My sister was in from California for a short, two-day visit, so we packed it full. Saturday held a cookout at my mom’s with lots of kids (plus adults). The kids were great and Amy had a wonderful time playing with them (she’s not around a lot of kids most of the time). She’s a natural with my son as well. Amy and I spent the night at mom’s and stayed up whispering in the dark until almost midnight while my son slept in the pack and play beside us. It was a lot like old times!

Sunday, we went to church with my mom, then visited my dad’s side of the family. My 93 year old grandmother was so elated to see so much of her family at her house at one time. My dad has 6 brothers and 3 of them were there in addition to us.

Today, my mom, son and I took my sister to her destination in NC where she’ll stay a day for business then head back to California. We had lunch at the Mellow Mushroom, a pizza place I’d heard good things about. It was a great meal and then we hit up the Goodwill store across the road. We had a ball shopping and laughing.

It’s sad to depart from family and we really missed my other sister who lives in Tennessee. I hope this year brings a time when ALL of us can be under one roof again.

Mom, me, Amy & my little pride and joy.

Mom, me, Amy & my little pride and joy.

I’ve driven a lot of miles this weekend, but it was lots of fun. I just HAD to cook when I got home this evening – I was ready for something healthy and hadn’t cooked in days. This recipe was really good and opened me up to two new ingredients I’d never used before – tofu and nappa cabbage. My husband even gobbled it up. Gotta love Meatless Mondays!

Roasted Tofu and Peanut Noodle Salad

Roasted Tofu & Peanut Noodle Salad

Roasted Tofu & Peanut Noodle Salad

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

