enough already!

So, I’m ready to shed some weight and eat healthier. We’ve all said or heard that before, huh? Well, I figured out this week that I am just plain tired of training for triathlons, for now. I have two weeks until my next race, the final one for 2013. I’ve dragged but on training this past week, only running once, swimming twice, and riding my bike once. I was supposed to do a brick, but I just didn’t make the time. That’s my goal for this week. Either way, I’m just burned out on swimming, biking, and running. I want to do some “fun” workouts. I loved that High Intensity Interval Training I did over a week ago, and it took less than 30 minutes. So, I’m gonna tough out tri training for the next 10 days or so, maybe mixing in some different workouts, too. Then, I’m gonna push myself with new workouts and take some aerobics classes. I have this HUGE notebook of workout ideas, so there’s no excuse for getting bored.

At the same time, I really need to drop some pounds. I’m a little stumped why I’ve gained some weight over these past few months, but I feel it’s a combination of being in an exercise rut and not eating as clean as I should. Also, when I quit nursing my son, I knew I’d put on a few pounds. In March, I weighed 150 and my goal was to stay under 155 through the end of the year. I’m at 157 or so now and it’s bugging me.

Thankfully, my husband’s grandma gave me a bunch of “eating well” magazines and they’ve helped inspire me with some different ideas for dinner, etc. So, my new goal is to fix two new healthy recipes a week. That still leaves me a day to dine out and days for no thinking meals like trusty spaghetti.

This week’s picks are Roasted Tofu & Peanut Noodle Salad and Scallop Piccata on Angel Hair. I’ve never cooked tofu before and I also bought scallops this week because they were on sale. I used to get scallops all the time and make this quinoa dish, but I’ve not made it in forever. Of course, I always alter recipes to make them easier or work with ingredients that I already have, but these will be my starting points.

One of the new recipes I plan to try this week.

One of the new recipes I plan to try this week.

I know if I just cut down on my bread intake (I’m guilty of not always eating whole grains), then the weight will come off. Plus, changing my workouts will definitely help. So, here goes! Yay Labor Day!

Leave a Reply

