1 timothy 6

I read some of 1 Timothy 6 last night as part of my devotion and I think verse 11 is going to be my theme verse for life: “But thou, O man of God, flee these things; and follow after righteousness, godliness, faith, love, patience, meekness.” If we all did that, wouldn’t the world be a better place in which to live?

What are “these things” from which we are to flee?

  • pride, envy, strife, railings, evil surmisings (verse 4)
  • perverse disputings of men (verse 5)
  • love of money (verse 10)

I also really like verse 6: “But godliness with contentment is great gain.”

Contentment…what does that mean? “A state of happiness and satisfaction”.

I think so many of us are always seeking the next best thing, but we all need to learn to be “content” with what we have and the current situation.

This week has been one of the best week’s of my life, but there’s been nothing monumentous about it. It’s been the joy in the little things like picking apples from the tree beside our house and watching the barn swallows fly around in the field. Also, my husband saying he played the best golf game of his life while describing his 25 foot putt in which he made par. And, I’m so darn proud of my son who is the most loving and well-behaved little thing I’ve ever seen in my life.

So, my thought for the day is this: Be nice and be content.

My son and I one Sunday morning before church. Gotta love my bed head!

My son and I one Sunday morning before church. Gotta love my bed head!

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

