choose to be happy

I had a lady tell me a bit ago that she wished she could be as happy as I am. I admit, I am one of those annoyingly happy people. There’s a man that comes into my place of work and shakes his head saying, “There’s no way you can be THAT happy all the time.” Well, most of the time, I am. Are there days when I’m not happy? Yep. Do I stay that way for long? Nope.

I was telling the lady this morning that it’s my CHOICE to be happy. When bad things come along, you can either let them get you down, or “keep on the sunny side” and realized how blessed you are and how much better you have it than most folks. Most of us are always better off than someone in this world.

I read a statistic the other day that 75% of the world lives on less than $10 per day. That’s right at $300 per month (or less). That means I’m in the wealthy 25% of the world, even though I’m not wealthy by most American standards. But, I really feel rich. I have good health, a loving family, a good job, nice friends, and a promise of a better tomorrow.

John 14:2 says ” In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you.” That’s one reason I’m so happy…this life is temporary. I love my life and I love this earth, even though it is evil and bad sometimes. However, I am really looking forward to stepping into an unimaginable fantasy world when my life is over. When things seem difficult or bad, all I have to do is remind myself that one day, I will never cry again. I will never experience sorrow, discouragement, anger, or any negative feeling.

Here are some lyrics to some songs we sing in church that I sing to myself a lot to remind me of what’s coming one day.

“Oh no I’m not afraid to cross that river.
My Father owns the land on both sides.
He’ll walk with me through the shadows.
Then home sweet home I’ll abide.”

I gave the lady an example of when my car messed up a few weeks back. All the transmission fluid leaked out, but thankfully I realized it before driving it and locking up the transmission. Some people would moan and groan about that, but I looked at this way – at least I was at home when I had it towed. At least I didn’t destroy my transmission. God was looking out for me.

Make a choice today to be happy. It’s a whole lot better than choosing to be sad or mad.

image courtesy of smiley-faces.org

image courtesy of smiley-faces.org

Leave a Reply

