food

I’ve been a busy little bee here lately, thus the lack of blogging. But, I’ve been reading and thinking a lot about food here lately, so I thought that was as good a top as any. I’m reading “Animal, Vegetable, Miracle” by Barbara Kingsolver. I’ve read her books before (The Prodigal Summer and The Poinsonwood Bible) and I really liked them. She lives somewhere in Southwest Virginia (my stompin’ grounds), I think. Anyhoo, this book came recommended by a yoga instructor that I know as well as a magazine I read along the way.

animal-vegetable-miracle

I’m only into the second or third chapter, and am already inspired to make changes (yet again) to my food habits, as well as my family’s. I blogged a while back on “The Omnivore’s Dilemma” and it opened my eyes to a lot of terrible food practices we have going on in these grand old United States. The current book digs even deeper into GMOs (Genetically Modified Organisms) and it’s just plain scary…and stupid. Most of the food seeds today for mass production have genes in them to kill bugs that try to eat them! I’ve always been a little leery of spraying for bugs  and weeds around my house, but breeding it into our food? Come on!

Needless to say, I’m ready to start my own little food plot, raise some chickens, and milk some cows. Thank goodness I actually live in a place where I CAN do all of these things. Now, WILL I? Time will tell and it will have to be incorporated a little a a time. My husband and father in law plan to purchase some Jersey cows soon, and I’m begging him for a girl of our own. I want to get her spoiled and be able to milk her next year. This guy was telling me about unpasteurized Jersey milk and how it’s the best stuff you’ve ever tasted. When it sours, it doesn’t smell like store bought sour milk, but more like buttermilk. Someone asked me if I’m worried about E. Coli in raw milk, but I honestly think that comes from contaminated environments more than the milk. I will do some more research on that. Plus, it seems like there would be test strips you could buy to test your raw milk. If not, I should patent that idea!

One thing I do on a regular basis is read the darn food labels on products I buy. Today, I scoured the ice cream section for natural ice cream that didn’t have high fructose corn syrup in it….the choices were very slim. So, I didn’t buy ice cream. I try to buy food with the least amount of ingredients possible, especially for my son. I buy him organic, whole milk (since we don’t have our own Jersey girl ready yet).

I encourage you to read more about our food industry and take action. Small steps can add up to a happier, healthier you and  your family! I would go on and on, but I’m tired. But, speaking of food, I just pulled these puppies out of the oven and can’t wait to taste test them! Check out the recipe at http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/blackberry-peach-cobbler-bars-50400000128264/

Blackberry Peach Cobbler Bars from Southern Living Magazine

Blackberry Peach Cobbler Bars from Southern Living Magazine

4 Comments

  1. Pingback: Project O – Article #68: Mandy – Virginia, USA (Scheduled for 9-17 @ 18:00) | HarsH ReaLiTy

  2. Pingback: Project O – Article #80: Mandy – UK (Scheduled for 9 – 20 @ 18:00) | HarsH ReaLiTy

Leave a Reply

