a tribute to Nana and a beautiful summer day

Today, we buried my husband’s grandmother, Joan Sparks. She was 80 years old and passed away on Sunday, July 21. She loved golf, among many other things and she was a big part of my husband’s family. Over the past 10 years of our marriage, I had traveled the hour and a half to Roanoke to see her and his aunt Diane a few times each year. I didn’t know her nearly well enough, but I know she was loved by her family and she loved them back.

I found this picture from 2004 when my mother-in-law and I visited some of her relatives. I thought it would be appropriate to share today in remembrance of “Nana”. She will be missed by many.

That's me in the back row, far left, then Nana, then her daughter (my husband's aunt Diane) to the right. I can't recall the other's names except for my mother-in-law Belvia seated in front of me. They all look very much alike!

That’s me in the back row, far left, then Nana, then her daughter (my husband’s aunt Diane) to the right. I can’t recall the other’s names except for my mother-in-law Belvia seated in front of me. They all look very much alike!

This evening, we visited a friend nearby and I got some good pictures of my son playing and exploring. Before we left to visit, we found a praying mantis on our back steps. It was kind enough to let me take its picture.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

