i did it!

I set a goal to come in at least third in my age group at the triathlon this weekend and I DID IT!!! I’m so happy because this is the only time I’ve placed in my age group when there have been more than two folks in my age group. I came in 3rd out of 5 women in my age group, so I’m darn tickled! I finished the sprint distance race (1/2 mile swim, 12.5 mile bike, and 5K run) in 1:37:53.

I do have to give props to my 9 week training guide from The Woman Triathlete book. I followed it about 85%, just missing a few workouts. I only did two bricks during my training this time, so next time, I’m going to do some more work there. I felt so strong on all three legs and I even beat a 30 minute 5k time (which is big for me). I had a blast, and I’m going to train even hard and compete in the Claytor Lake Tri on September 14. But, I’m going to take a couple of weeks and just have some fun first.

My husband and I spent a night in beautiful Warm Springs, Virginia at a place called Natural Retreats. It was a great place to stay, even though we’re from the mountains. It was SO relaxing and quiet on that old farm, and we practically had the place to ourselves for most of Friday evening. There was no noise that night, just some tree frogs in the distance.

We had a fantastic supper at the Inn at Gristmill Square. Fresh, local trout stuffed with spinach and mushrooms, then topped with asparagus and walnuts. The rolls and peach Bellini were yummy!

Enjoy some pictures from our fun weekend in Bath County. AND, set a goal for yourself…you might just be surprised at the outcome!

Leave a Reply

