lots of opportunity

Over the past three days, I have had three people confide in me and cry on my shoulder. Most people do find it easy to tell me things, but these three ladies in particular have been in deep emotional pain. The strange part is that I was telling my mom about the first two, when along came the third very shortly thereafter.

My thought is this: just take a minute and listen if someone needs your ear. In all three circumstances, I’ve told the women that I don’t really know what to say, and they’ve told me simply by listening that I’ve helped them. So, it makes a difference.

There are so many folks in this world hurting and looking for a listening ear or shoulder to cry on. Or just for someone to hug them and tell them they are loved. If you’re like me, you’re blessed to have a super fantastic life and a little extra energy to dish out to those who are in need. If you are the one needing the shoulder, I hope you find your listening ear.

One other thing I wanted to point out, too. If you run across someone who is hurting, take a minute and pray for them. Even if it’s a short prayer for their comfort or healing, stop what you’re doing and sincerely utter a word to God. If we can’t say or do anything to help, He can.

Leave a Reply

