book reviews: “The Middlesteins” and “The Shadowy Horses”

I just finished “The Shadowy Horses” by Susanna Kearsley last night and I really liked it. The Scottish language was very interesting and the book had a good story line. It kept me up past my bedtime and it was well worth the read. I did feel the end came to be a little too quickly, but it wasn’t a deal breaker.

shadowyhorses

Last week, I completed “The Middlesteins” by Jami Attenberg. It was a pretty quick read and the story was somewhat familiar to my life in some ways, though not as extreme. It’s not a very happy read, so don’t be prepared to come away feeling good, but it didn’t make me cry, either.

Hopefully, I can find a book that knocks my socks off again soon. “The Night Circus” got me spoiled…it’s like watching a terrific movie like Shutter Island and then not having anything good come along until Cloud Atlas.

middlesteins

 

Leave a Reply

