about time to “tri”

I’m going to be presenting a seminar on Becoming a Triathlete next Tuesday (if anyone shows up). I had my sister forward me the photos she took of my last triathlon back in September, and as I was flipping through them, I noticed I actually had some muscle tone in one of them. Now, I look nothing like Dara Torres, but I’m pretty happy with my physique, especially having had a baby last year.

I'm not Dara Torres...

I’m not Dara Torres…

Anyway, it’s more than how you look. I’m just happy that I take my health seriously. I eat better than probably most Americans and I do exercise at least 3 times a week. I’m studying to become a personal trainer through the American Council on Exercise (ACE), so I can share my passion with others.

Most of all, I’m glad I’m showing my son the importance of good health, while having fun. So far, his dad and I are very active with him and encourage him to play and not be a couch potato (at the mere age of 1, that’s not too hard). We try to get him outside to play as much as possible, and a lot of our relatives do the same. My husband plays flag football and basketball, so I believe it will help foster my son’s athleticism.

Anyhoo, my point of this post is to encourage you to be the most healthful YOU that you can be. Even if that means just trying to eat one more vegetable or fruit a day…or taking the stairs instead of the elevator. Every little bit helps and it can really add up to a life changing experience.

Holding my son while walking beside my dad after the Claytor Lake Triathlon in September. You can see my calf muscles (and yes, I have a shoulder tattoo - swim, bike, run).

Holding my son while walking beside my dad after the Claytor Lake Triathlon in September. You can see my calf muscles (and yes, I have a shoulder tattoo – swim, bike, run).

Leave a Reply

