alka seltzer

When I was little, I loved the taste of Alka Seltzer for some crazy reason. Mom and dad would give them to me when I was sick and I just loved the flavor. One time, I went to my grandma’s house and I was surprised to find she had a huge stash of Alka Seltzers in her bathroom. I put some in my pocket and took them home. When I told my mom that grandma had given me the packets for my upset stomach, she gave me an out and asked me if I was sure that’s what happened. I lied and told her that grandma wanted me to have them. Well, mom then pointed out that they were not Alka Seltzer – in fact, they were Efferdent! I couldn’t read yet, so I didn’t know the difference.

That was one of the only two times I ever stole anything. I stole a toy Barbie mirror off a friend one time. When mom found out, she made me take it back and apologize with tears streaming down my face. Broke me from stealing!

For some reason, the thought of stealing came to mind this week. My dad brought me some cold medicine pills as my whole house has had the cold this week. I  put them in the diaper bag and pulled them out later, which reminded me of the story of my grandma. I’m also reading a book called “The Weird Sisters” and it talks about their adventures with stealing.

I need to call my grandma and see how she is…

Leave a Reply

