something’s wrong in the world today…

(This is not my normal “positive” blog post, so I beg your pardon. This is just something that has been bugging me for a while and I have to get it off my chest.)

Once upon a time, in a not too far away land, there was a man who had multiple children and a wife that stayed at home with the kids. Said man did have a full time job, but it wasn’t enough to completely provide for his family’s basic needs like heat and food.

I was confused by this man’s choices in life as he had a multiple mobile phone plan, as well as high speed internet and cable television at his house (I’m guessing about $250 per month that could be put toward the essentials). Also, when the tax return came each year, gadget purchases were made instead of filling the oil tank for heat or saving the money for hard times later in the year.

Yeah? Yeah.

Here’s my big question – how are the kids going to turn out? Are they going to learn that this behavior is OK or will they remember their hard upbringing and strive to be different? The only positive thing I can say about the situation is that at least this man is not spending the money on drugs and alcohol.

OK, now I’m off my soapbox.

Leave a Reply

