kisses and change

I realized the other day that I’m the receiver of kisses, but I don’t give many. I’m fortunate enough to work with my mom. I had to lifeguard while she taught water aerobics earlier in the week and she gave me a kiss on the cheek. That’s when I noticed that normally I turn my cheek so my parents can give me a smooch, but rarely do I smooch them. Is that the way it normally goes? I kiss my son on the head a lot, but he’s too small to know how to kiss me on the cheek.

Speaking of working with my mom…it’s so funny. We have the same travel coffee mug (thanks to my younger sister), and we’ll have the same phone in a few days. We were both wearing the same lifeguard shirts today, too. We already look like sisters without all these exterior similarities.

Now, about change. I’m not talking about the kind that makes noise in your pocket, but how life becomes different. My younger sister accepted a job and is moving about 7 hours away. In all the 30 years she’s been alive, we’ve never lived that far away from each other. To this point, we’ve been within a 40 minute drive of one another. I’m very excited that she got this wonderful job just a couple of months after she graduated college. That’s nearly unheard of these days in this job market and economy. I’m really going to miss her, but it will give us an excuse for road trips, huh?

I made a change this week as well. I had been helping my old employer part time from home, but I decided it was time to call it quits. My goal in changing jobs a few months back was to have more time with my family, but I noticed that I didn’t have as much time as I had hoped while I was still helping them out. So, change I did and now I’ll have more time to raise my son and enjoy my husband.

Leave a Reply

