my sisters

My sisters and I one Halloween dressed as ballerinas (I'm the middle one).

My sisters and I one Halloween dressed as ballerinas (I’m the middle one).

My younger sister is in Tennessee tonight for a job interview and I’m so proud of her. She just graduated with an environmental science degree less than a month ago – the first in my immediate family to get a Bachelor’s degree. I wrote about “discernment” the other day and I have to say she definitely listened when God called her several years ago.

After she graduated from high school, she ended up in the banking industry. Several years into it (maybe 5 or 6), she realized that’s not what she wanted to do with her life. She said God told her to go back to school, so she did. I talked about changing jobs of almost 9 years, but I can’t imagine quitting a good paying, full time job to go to school and work part time.

Now, she’s been asked to travel about 7 hours away for a job interview. A big one, from the sound of it. She said she got an “interview agenda” which outlined 2 different interviews of 45 minutes by a panel of 3 different people (in each session), then a tour of the facility, then lunch with the plant manager. I’ve never heard of such a thing! I’m praying that if this is the right job for her that she gets it. However, at the same time, I’m really going to miss her if she goes away. We’re only about 16 months apart in age and have always been close. We see each other at least a few times each month and to think she won’t be here to spend time with me makes me sad. But, I want her to be happy and successful.

I miss my other sister who moved to California in November 2011. I haven’t seen her since and I do hope 2013 holds an in-person meeting for us. Before California, she lived about 6 hours away and I didn’t see her for almost 2 years before she left for California.

Isn’t it strange when you’re growing up that you just think you’ll always have your siblings right there? I’m so thankful mine are alive and well and that I’ve not had any permanent good byes with them. Oh, the memories I have of growing up. We actually all got along fairly well – we had our spats, but we never physically hurt one another.

My younger sister (that’s gone for the interview) has influenced me a lot over the years. I got to thinking about how she introduced me to hummus, whole wheat pasta, and ground turkey. I still eat those things, but she’s gone back to regular pasta and ground beef. She also turned me on to reusable shopping bags before it was a big deal.

The older sister (in California) has this inner strength and free spirit that I admire. She just goes with the flow and lives life day to day. I like to think that I picked up that trait from her. She also has the prettiest handwriting – mine stinks because I’m always in a hurry. I’d rather type.

My son will be a year old at the end of the month and I’ve really always thought he should have a sibling to keep him company and to grow up with. Part of me still feels that way, but at the same time, our little family trio seems perfect right now and I can’t imagine it any other way. I guess we’ll just have to wait and see what the Man upstairs has to say about it.

Mom told us to act scared like "Lions, and tigers, and bears...OH MY!"

Mom told us to act scared like “Lions, and tigers, and bears…OH MY!”

Leave a Reply

