prayer works

Prayer really does work. Yesterday, I was having a time relating to someone very close to me. This person was very upset and was showing it outwardly. Normally, I would have said something that sparked an argument, but instead, I googled something like “prayer for upset [type of person]” and this really neat thing popped up…

“Lord, nothing in me wants to pray for this man. I confess my anger, hurt, unforgiveness, disappointment, resentment, and hardness of heart toward him. Forgive me and create in me a clean heart and right spirit before You. Give me a new, positive, joyful, loving, forgiving attitude toward him. Where he has erred, reveal it to him and convict his heart about it. Lead him through the paths of repentance and deliverance. Help me not to hold myself apart from him emotionally, mentally, or physically because of unforgiveness. Where either of us needs to ask forgiveness of the other, help us to do so.

If there is something I’m not seeing that’s adding to this problem, reveal it to me and help me to understand it. Remove any wedge of confusion that has created misunderstanding or miscommunication. Where there is behavior that needs to change in either of us, I pray You would enable that change to happen. As much as I want to hang on to my anger toward him because I feel it’s justified, I want to do what You want. I release all those feelings to You. Give me a renewed sense of love for him and words to heal this situation.”

The article also pointed out “Sometimes anything we say will only hinder the flow of what God wants to do, so it’s best to, well, shut up and pray.”

Later yesterday evening, the offender apologized to me and said he was going to work on his behavior. I confessed to him that I had prayed for him and had chosen to bite my tongue instead of saying anything to start a fight. He said it was funny because he had been planning in his mind what he was going to do if I spouted out and tried to start a fight.

So, that prayer worked and saved me an argument and hurt feelings yesterday!

Also, the prayers I said for my son’s recovery from RSV have been answered. No fever since yesterday morning and he’s on the mends! It sounds like a small prayer to be answered, but it could have really turned into something earlier like a hospital stay or even death. I think we take life for granted sometimes – our own lives and others.

One closing, unrelated thought. I get the “Daily Hope” devotional by Rick Warren and there was a line from one of the recent devotions that said “The problem is not that our culture believes nothing but that it believes everything.” Boy, ain’t that the truth?

 

Leave a Reply

