shopping and family

Shopping and family really aren’t that much related, but those are the two topics on my mind at present. Yesterday, my sister and I finally got to go to Trader Joe’s – we’d been looking forward to that for a few months until this new store opened recently.  I’d been a couple of times, but now there is one closer to home so we went. I’m always in awe of their wide variety of sweets and chocolates! My sister enjoyed it. My other sister in California has been sending me the neatest greeting cards from Trader Joe’s but this store didn’t have a very good selection. I guess I’ll just have to stay on the receiving end of the cards and find neat stationary elsewhere.

Before we made it to TJ’s, we hit the mall and went out to eat. Let me tell you, I feel like an 80 year old woman sometimes! I am so frugal that all I bought was $15 worth of baby socks and a thermal shirt at Old Navy. Everything else seems so ridiculous – like the $119 throw blankets at Pottery Barn. Are you kidding me?! Yes, they were very soft, but I cannot imagine justifying spending money like that on a blanket.

I’m starting to realize that there’s not much more that I value in life than spending time with the ones I love. Maybe that sounds cliche, especially on Thanksgiving week, but I’m really serious. Spending time with my husband and son just walking around in our yard seems so much more valuable to me than spending all of my time hopping from store to store and blowing my paycheck. I’m really glad I see there’s more to life than that, but I feel sad for those folks (and there are MANY of them) that only see the value in material possessions.

On a lighter note, check out this article I ran across about cooking gadgets, including the smallest microwave that plugs into your USB drive!

2 Comments

  1. I’ve always wanted to go to Trader Joe’s, but there aren’t any close to us. I kind of want to try their coffee.

    I’m with you on being frugal, somethings are just not worth the money. I think spending time with loved ones is so much more valuable than any item. It’s sad how much emphasis is placed on material things. I hope you have a good Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

