the end of a big chapter

Tomorrow marks the end of a big chapter of my life – I am leaving my only full time job I’ve ever had. Well, not completely leaving… I’ve decided to do some part time work from home for the company, but I will not be in the office full time, so it’s going to be very different. I’ve been at this job for almost 9 years, which is almost as long as I’ve been married.

I decided to change careers to spend more time with my son. On one hand, it was the hardest decision I’ve ever made. On the other hand, it was quite easy. Ever since I became pregnant, I knew I wanted to spend more time at home with the baby. Being a full time stay at home mom isn’t for me, but I do want more quality time with my son (and husband, of course). It seems like when you work full time and drive an hour each day, all you get are the left overs of your child. I have been getting home with about an hour to spare before it’s time to give the baby a bath and put him to bed. It makes me feel like an outsider in his life.

Now, I’m not knocking anyone who works full time or even more than one job. I honestly don’t know how in the world these single parents do it – I would hate to imagine having to be in that situation. I thank God (literally) that I’m blessed to be in the situation I’m in where I don’t have to work an insane amount of hours and then have a super long commute. I’m glad He’s afforded me the opportunity to be a part in raising my child.

Anyway, I begin my new job on Tuesday. I’m going from technology sells (in a fast paced, corporate world) to working at the local, non-profit wellness facility (similar to the YMCA). Everyone asks, “Are you excited?” and I wish I could say, “Heck yeah!” but the truth is, I’ve not had too much time to think of it. I realized recently that I live in the moment… I don’t dwell on the past too much and I don’t plan too hard for the future. It seems like the day to day keeps me plenty busy. Also, what excites me now is spending time with my little bundle of joy when it used to be the thought of advancing the company. It’s funny how being a mom changes a gal… I really do like myself more now!

I wanted to share a picture of the sky from this morning – the clouds were really pretty.

The beautiful morning sky on November 1

Leave a Reply

