having kids

The other evening, my sister and I went to dinner, taking along my almost 9 month old son. It was in the evening (obviously, that’s when people eat dinner) and he was getting sleepy so he was pretty wiggly and didn’t want to stay in his high chair. So, I wrestled him while trying to eat my dinner. I looked across the table and my sister is looking at me and I can see it in her face – “I don’t know how you do it!” She offered to hold the baby while I ate and then we could switch off, but I told her it’s just part of it and I don’t mind.

It’s funny, because a year ago before I was a mom, I would have been thinking the very same thing if I would have been witness to what she saw. But, something changes when you become a mom. Maybe I’m not like everyone else, but I truly LOVE being a mom! I think I always knew that I would because ever since I was little, I wanted to be pregnant and have 4 kids. Now, the 4 kids part I’ve changed my mind about, but I really did enjoy being pregnant. Thankfully, I wasn’t sick and I didn’t swell and all that, so it was a pretty easy 9 months for me.

Anyway, back to being a mom…I just can’t imagine my life without or son now and my husband agrees. We both think he’s the neatest thing ever and celebrating tiny victories like that first tooth popping through and him standing up to hold on to the pack and play all by himself are a big part of our lives now.

I don’t know where I’m going with all of this, but I feel very blessed and honored to have been selected to be a mom to my son and just a mom in general. It’s truly something to enjoy.

Oh, and I think that if my sister ever becomes a mom, she’ll understand what I’m talking about. 🙂

2 Comments

  1. love this! it definitely resonates with me. today I was holding on a conversation with my 10 month old happily using me as a jungle gym…and I didn’t even notice that I was being climbed on, until my friend mentioned how active he was!

Leave a Reply

