1590

I wanted to blog earlier, but I wasn’t feeling inspired, so I started reading instead…then inspiration hit me!

This weekend, I finished up the book “Shadow of Night” by Deborah Harkness, which was the second in a trilogy, I believe. The first book was great and the second book was even better. In the book, the characters go back to 1590 in search of a missing book that is full of secrets. Doesn’t sound too far fetched, right?

I started reading a new book tonight – “How to Make an American Quilt.” Do you remember the movie from the 90s (I guess) with Wynona Rider? Anyway, I found an old copy in this antique store for $1 and bought it. Within the first chapter of the book, it mentions the lost colony of 1590! Now, do tell me, how in the WORLD do I read two books, back to back, by different authors that both mention the lost Roanoke Island colony of 1590? It’s just a bit too ironic, I think. I mean, this is only the second book I’ve read in over 9 months (that doesn’t pertain to baby stuff, that is).

Speaking of baby stuff, I have to throw in there that my son’s first tooth popped through this weekend! It took almost 9 months to show, but finally that little rigid edge has broken the surface.

Leave a Reply

