what makes people “lawless”?

My husband and I saw the movie “Lawless” today. In his opinion, it was fantastic. In my eyes, it was disturbing. I mean, it was a good movie, but I’m a romance/comedy type of gal – this movie wasn’t either of those. There was one romantic scene and a couple of laughs in there, but overall, it was violent.

I guess a movie is pretty good if you blog about it…

It’s strange when you become a mom (or a parent, I guess) how you start looking at things differently. I think I actually started noticing and becoming more sensitive to different aspects of life when I was pregnant.

While I was watching the movie, all I could think of is my 7 month old son. On the way home, I asked my husband something along the lines of “How can we all start out as innocent as our son and then some of us end up so wicked and mean?” I’m sure there are a thousand different viewpoints on this topic, and Freud would have a ball with my question. But, isn’t it disturbing to think about how some folks end up so terrible even though the were happy, smiling babies at one point? Maybe I just have an abnormally happy baby, but it’s hard to wrap my  head around it.

The movie was set not too far from where I live and it’s hard to believe there was a time when life was like that. At the same time, I know there are similar things happening in the world today that we just don’t know about or acknowledge.

OK, enough gloom and doom on this rainy Labor Day! How about reading this article about Labor Day? The interesting part is the “workingmen’s holiday”. Guess the women got involved and changed that up, huh?

Leave a Reply

