baby product advice for expecting mothers

I’ve been a mom for 6 months now and boy, have I learned a lot! I have a long time friend who is going to be a mom for the first time this fall and I told her I would give her my advice on what products have been great for me, and not so much. So, this is dedicated to you, dear Amy!

Ahhh… when I needed a free hand, you were there for me!

First up, the bouncer seat…my father in law assembled one very similar to this one the first week we were home from the hospital and my little E is still using this thing! It was super handy and has kept him entertained for hours.

Next, we have the inflatable bath tub. At first, we used this foam rubber thing in the sink – it was uncomfortable for the baby and not very good for us parents either. My cousin gave me this tub and it worked great. We just have migrated him into the regular tub a couple of weeks ago, so this is a great investment, I think.

The inflatable tub can double as a float in the river (ok, maybe not).

I don’t care if you ARE having a boy, the pink owl Boppy pillow is something you MUST have, especially if you are planning on nursing (go breast feeding moms!!!). Well, it doesn’t have to be pink, or have owls, but you need a Boppy. I still use that thing and probably will until I quit nursing when my son is 18. Not months, years! Ok, that’s gross and I’m just kidding.

While on the subject of breastfeeding, here are some more good things to have:

  • Breast pump – I love my Medela Pump In Style
  • Nursing Pads – The Lansinoh ones have worked best for me (makes me look a little lumpy, but that’s one of the sacrifices ya make, I reckon).
  • Storage bags – the Medela ones worked great, but the Lansinoh ones tended to have a hole and leak when thawed.
  • Storage tubes – I store my milk in these daily and just pour them into bottles at night for the next day.

They call it a pack and play, but it’s what my baby slept in for almost the first 6 months.

My Pack & Play also was a very good investment (thanks to family members giving gift cards, it didn’t cost me a dime!). I chose this one because it had a napper/changing table and it worked great for napping (for the baby – I tried to nap in it once and it wasn’t quite as comfy for me). Not so much for changing diapers – hurt my back after a while.

E. has loved his MAM pacifiers, too. I’m not sure why he likes them the best, but he never has liked the NUK ones.

I lucked up and got his Excersaucer for $30 used, but I recommend having something like this for when he gets bigger. It’s great and has kept him entertained for up to 20 minutes at a time (that’s a long time for an infant).

I’m sure there are a million other products I’m not thinking of right now, but these are the ones that have been the best for us. I was so excited about the following items, but they have proven to be more novelty…

  • Bumbo – I was psyched about this darn thing and he’s never liked it.
  • Lanolin – none of that stuff worked for me. Actually, I think it made my nipples more sore than they already were.
  • Fresh food feeders kind of remind you of those ring pops, huh?

    Fresh food feeder – I’ve tried it a few times with no avail. He doesn’t like the texture.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

