I’m an ESFJ

I finally got to ride bikes with my friend Nancy the other evening (for the first time in several weeks) and we always talk while we pedal the rolling miles away. We were chatting this day about different challenging aspects of our lives (the normal topic of conversation besides food) and she told me I’m an ESFJ. Actually, she informed me of this before when I told her I was learning about DISC personality profiles. It’s very interesting that she can peg what type of personality I am. You can read more about me here (and it’s VERY accurate) – http://www.personalitypage.com/ESFJ.html.

I’m the type of gal who despises conflict and loves peace. I avoid confrontation at all costs (most of the time…the other day, my sister pointed out someone’s facebook post that really irked me and then warned me not to comment because she knows I’m “passionate”). But, in a way, I feel that makes me two faced. I feel like I really try to make most people in this world happy, but that’s about impossible, isn’t it? I’m always afraid I’m going to make someone mad or hurt their feelings, but sometimes I do wish I had a touch more of “no care” like some folks I know.

I hope to raise my son as a sensitive guy that can stand up for himself, but not hurt others by being abrasive. I don’t want him to be bullied, but I definitely don’t want him BEING a bully either.

So, what to take away from this? There’s a balance – don’t let folks run over you because you’re too tied up in trying to be nice, but don’t hurt other’s feelings by being a hateful butt and saying everything that comes to mind! 🙂

Leave a Reply

